The Path to True Inner Peace

There is no peace, like the peace you get from knowing you are God’s child. Things in anyone’s life will never be perfect, but when you know that you have someone looking out for you, providing for you, answering your prayers, then you will have a peace in your life like none other.

For non believers this may be a hard concept to grasp. A lot of people get hung up on the faith part of religion. There is no material proof that God is my savior. There is no way for me to prove that I’m going to heaven. With the mistakes I make, it could be hard for someone to understand why I call myself a christian, but I am. I know because I have faith.

I used to live a very unhappy life. I wasn’t happy with myself, with my family, with my situation, but finally I decided to make a change. Having faith in anything is a decision you make. I devoted my life to God. I made it a point everyday to try and be good and positive and since that day my life has turned a complete 180! I have literally never been happier. I have never had a more peace in my life than I do now and I owe that totally to God.

Because I know that I owe my life to God, I try to improve myself everyday. I am still so far from where I want to be. I think, though, that as long as I pray daily and study God’s word that I will continue to improve and hopefully do things that are pleasing to him. One major reason I write devotional posts is because I want desperately to share how amazing God is and how he can work in your life to move mountains you though wouldn’t budge.

In my mind peace is one of the hardest things to find on this Earth. Some days it seems like everything and everyone is against you  and the stress of life is overwhelming. I want to share with you some scripture for those days, when you feel defeated, anxious, and unworthy of anything more.

Psalms 34:14

Depart from evil, and do good; seek peace, and pursue it.

Isaiah 9:6

For unto a child is born, unto us a son is given::and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counsellor, The Might God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.

Luke 1:79

To give light to them that sit in darkness and in the shadow of death, to guide our feet into the way of peace.

John 14:27

Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Romans 5:1

Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.

2 Corinthians 13:11

Finally, bretheren, farewell, be perfect, be of good comfort, be of one mind, live in peace; and the God of love and peace shall be with you.

Galatians 5:22

But the fruit of the spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffereing, gentleness, goodness, faith,

Ephesians 2:14

For he is our peace, who hath made both one, and hath broken the partition between us;

Philippians 4:7

And the peace of God, which pass all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.

James 3:18

And the fruit of righteousness is sown in peace of them that make peace.

1 Peter 3:11

Let him eshew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it.

Even though i was not particularly down trodden today, I always aim to inspire happiness and peace. As I prayed this morning about what to write, it seemed very obvious to start here. As I read over the scriptures I felt more at peace with God, instantly. I know he is watching over me and guiding my words and my actions.

I hope that you read these scriptures over and over again. Remember them for the hard days and quote them in the good days. He makes it clear in his word that if you just try to do good and be positive he will guide you to peace.

Just like it is a choice for us to give our faith to God, it is a choice for us to be positive. If we try to live our lives as pleasing to God, he will guide our path, but we must believe in him to do so and follow his word consistently before we truly find peace. I would love to hear comments from you if this was helpful, if it wasn’t helpful, or if you want to add anything!

 

Leave a Reply

